• Print Page Content

Our Achievements

We are committed to building learners who have a strong sense of self-belief. Students at Tasman School have significant opportunities to take part in sporting, cultural and academic events. 
Here are a couple of highlights ...
September 2016
Nelson Masked Parade:
Tasman School wowed the crowd and the judges again when they won two awards: the Kim Merry Supreme Award along with the award for best school.

The theme was Flights of Fancy and the Gondwana Dream. There were five groups amongst the school entry and they included Wetas, Kiwis, Tuataras, Haast Eagles and Moas. Each outfit was made with recycled materials by the children with a little help from teachers and parents.

September 2014
Nelson Masked Parade: 
Tasman School entered the 2014, 20th Anniversary Nelson Masked Parade where they won two awards; the Kim Merry Supreme Award along with the award for best school.
Their theme “Steampunk” certainly did look impressive with children wearing helmets, jetpacks and roller skates adorned in recycled material.

Each costume was completely unique.
The event saw nearly 40 schools, community groups and organisations take part with an estimated 2,500 people attending. 


September 2013
Room 4 won the Nelson & Tasman Environmental Award for students in years 7-13, at the bi-annual Cawthron Science Fair, for their work in monitoring and managing the impact of Muddy Buddies on our estuary. This prize came with $500, and students are busy thinking about how they can use the money wisely to continue to make our world a better place.

June 2013 
The 'Illuminati " team of years 7&8 students took 3RD PLACE in the 2013 Regional Academic Quiz. 
We may have been significantly smaller than all our competitors but we certainly punched well above our weight.
Congratulations to Tiare, Ella, Jordi, Hannah, Uma and Theo - and to their teacher Bronwyn for preparing them well. 
They also won the award for BEST Costume!

Some of our students have enjoyed significant success in the 2012 Moutere Hills Athletics Day. 
Drew Dodson-Cook won the coveted Peace Shield - and is now officially the fastest runner in our cluster of schools. 
This was the fourth consecutive year Tasman School has held this award - breaking all records since the shield's first race in 1919. Well done Drew!
Congratulations to all our relay runners - whose combined placings ensured us "First place overall" - alongside Mapua and Upper Moutere.
Tayne Lockwood claimed the prestigious Peace Shield in 2011, for the second year in a row beating the fastest runners from all local schools in a 200 metre sprint. Tayne joins the ranks of only two others who have made history by winning the trophy two years running, and followed Brad Tunnicliff's win for Tasman School in 2009.

Tayne Lockwood 2010 and 2011 Peace Shield Winner.   Drew Dodson-Cook shows off the RSA cup.

Drew Dodson-Cook also claimed the  2011 RSA Cup which is awarded to the winner of a race between the second fastest runners of local schools. 

Our senior team made up of Orin Bryden, Tayne Lockwood, Drew Dodson-Cook and Connor Bithell also took out the baton relay.